HowGoodYouWantToBe

“It is not the mountain we conquer but ourselves.” – Edmund Hillary

I ran the 8K XTERRA trail race yesterday morning in the Estrella mountains, southeast of Phoenix.

I felt good, but I didn’t push 100% on the hills and I missed getting into the top 10. In fact, my time of 49:22 was 14 seconds slower than the 10th place runner in my age group.

Going up the hills on the back side of the course, there were a few areas where the track opened up just enough that I could have run past the string of 8 or 10 runners ahead of me.

…but I didn’t, and that is what made the difference of me getting not getting into the top 10.

I do these races to gauge where I am in my prep for the OCR event series I run, namely the Spartan race series and the Tough Mudder events around the country.  I think I used that rationale as my excuse to not push harder. In the end, I regretted it because I knew I could do it and just didn’t.

At any rate, I realized I’ve still got a ways to go to being where I want/need to be for the rest of the races this year.

Admittedly, I was sore this morning… so the WOD I performed just forced me to get me moving. It’s as intense as you make it – you vs you.

Here we go…

WOD 10-5-15

Warm up: Jump rope (5 minutes)

Main set:

  • Perform 1 minute of each exercise, with 10 second rest in-between:
    • Plank
    • Pushups
    • Mountain climbers
    • Burpees
    • Air Squats
    • Burpees
    • Mountain climbers
    • Pushups
    • Plank
    • Crunches
  • REPEAT the sequence three times (minimum)

That’s it!  Cool down with sufficient stretching, re-hydrate, then get a good meal in you.

I’ll be running the canals in the AM with my boy, Scotty… It’ll be a good time!

See you on Wednesday!

allan

 

Leave a Reply

