WOD @allandnieva.me

“I don’t dream of success – I work for it.” -anon

Today everyone is remembering the movie, ‘Back to the Future’. Today is the day Marty McFly arrives from the past. Not a big deal for me, but it did give me pause to look back at what I was doing when that movie came out and see how far I’ve come. In 1985, I was still in grade school – still fours years away from joining the track team and other sports teams. I had yet to build any muscle or run over 25 miles in a week.

Fast forward 30 years, I’ve increased my running mileage dramatically. Last week, I hit over 40 miles for the first time ever. I hit 46 miles on a 8+ miler with my Ragnar team on a training run at the Tempe Town lake, which included a run up and down ‘A mountain’. This is what it looked like: http://go.nike.com/1r7v0fb

Admittedly, I’m sore, I feel a little deflated, but I feel strong and my mind stays focused. This is definitely a different feeling than when I solely hit the weights. I think I like it.

BUT… My next event is the Tough Mudder. So the WOD today and Friedy is focusing on upper body and core strength.

Here we go!

WOD 10-21-15

Warm up: Jump rope (5 mins, followed by a warm up stretch)

Main set4 sets of

  • Pullups
  • Pushups
  • Plank – 1 minute
  • Mountain climbers
  • Burpees

Spend one minute on each exercise, then

  • Plyometric pushups (clapping pushups without clapping)
    • My variation is to place a weight ball under one hand, then execute the pushup so my opposite hand lands on the ball. Repeat it to complete the set.
  • Standing dumbbell curls
    • The standing variation requires core concentration
  • rest

Again, one minute each.

That’s it!

The intensity is up to you because you’re aiming for time, not reps. You can keep going when you start feeling the fatigue or you can stop – the decision is yours, as are the results.

You got this!

See you on Friday.

allan

 

Leave a Reply

